

Service Director – Legal, Governance and Commissioning

Julie Muscroft

The Democracy Service
First Floor, Civic Centre 3
High Street
Huddersfield
HD1 2TG

Tel: 01484 221000

Decision Summary

Committee: CABINET

Date: MONDAY 15 JANUARY 2018

Committee Clerk: HELEN KILROY TEL: 01484 221000

Chair

Councillor Shabir Pandor

Councillors Attended

Councillor Peter McBride Councillor Naheed Mather

Councillor Musarrat Khan

Councillor Viv Kendrick

Councillor Masood Ahmed

Councillor Graham Turner

Councillor Cathy Scott

Observers

Councillor Judith Hughes

Apologies

Councillor David Sheard (Chair) and Councillor Erin Hill (Currently on Maternity Leave)

1: Membership of the Cabinet

To receive apologies for absence of Members who are unable to attend this meeting.

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Sheard and Hill.

2: Minutes of previous meeting

To approve the Minutes of the meeting of the Committee held on 21 November and 8 December 2017.

The minutes of the meetings held on 21 November and 8 December 2017 were approved as a correct record.

3: Interests

The Councillors will be asked to say if there are any items on the Agenda in which they have disclosable pecuniary interests, which would prevent them from participating in any discussion of the items or participating in any vote upon the items, or any other interests.

No interests were declared.

4: Admission of the Public

Most debates take place in public. This only changes when there is a need to consider certain issues, for instance, commercially sensitive information or details concerning an individual. You will be told at this point whether there are any items on the Agenda which are to be discussed in private.

It was noted that all agenda items would be considered in public session.

5: Deputations/Petitions

The Committee will receive any petitions and hear any deputations from members of the public. A deputation is where up to five people can attend the meeting and make a presentation on some particular issue of concern. A member of the public can also hand in a petition at the meeting but that petition should relate to something on which the body has powers and responsibilities.

In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 10 (2), Members of the Public should provide at least 24 hours' notice of presenting a deputation.

No deputations or petitions were received.

6: Public Question Time

The Committee will hear any questions from the general public.

No questions were asked.

7: Member Question Time

To consider questions from Councillors.

No questions were asked.

8: Business Rate 100% Retention Pilot

A report informing Cabinet about the Leeds City Region (LCR) pool pilot status for 100% business rate retention in 2018/19. To seek confirmation that Kirklees should continue as a member of the LCR Business Rates Pool and be part of the 100% business rates retention pilot.

Officer: James Anderson / Debbie Hogg.

That Kirklees continues to be a member of the Leeds City Region Business Rates Pool and be part of the 100% business rates retention pilot scheme.

9: Council Tax Base Rates

A report seeking approval for the various tax bases for 2018/19 in connection with the Council Tax.

Officer: Steve Bird.

RESOLVED - That the report be submitted to Council with a recommendation;

- (i) that the Council Taxbase 2018/2019 for Kirklees, and the five Parish and Town Council areas, be approved as follows;
 - Whole of Kirklees £117,770.00
 - Denby Dale £5,732.57
 - Holme Valley £9,960.21
 - Kirkburton £8, 861.25
 - Meltham £2.761.79
 - Mirfield £6,599.19
- (ii) that approval be given for the full Government Council Tax Reduction Scheme Grant to be passed to Town and Parish Councils at the same level as previous years and that it be noted that a review will be undertaken in advance of next year's budget to ascertain the appropriate level of funding.
- (iii) that authority be delegated to the Service Director (Finance, IT and Transactional Services) to adjust the taxbase to reflect any changes that may be agreed by Members, and to recalculate the taxbase pursuant to Section 3 1B (1) and S67 (1) and (2A) of the Local Government Finance Act 1992.